R.G. Keen's Blog

FreeNAS – Works GREAT!

Posted in Uncategorized by rgkeen on January 29, 2013

I mentioned giving up on OpenSolaris after Oracle’s hijinks.

FreeNAS, based on FreeBSD, works GREAT! I have a FreeNAS server up and running, and it fills all the needs I have.

I’ve also unwittingly had a few tests of its error tolerance. I had a new 1.5TB drive fail right in the middle of a several-Gb transfer. FreeNAS noted the problem, sent me an email to note that a disk drive was off-line, and DIDN’T EVEN STOP THE TRANSFER!

The transfer completed without a hitch. I know, I know, that’s how it’s supposed to work. But I’m always impressed when a reliability/error tolerance feature works as advertised in the real world.

Hats off to FreeNAS!

Leave a Reply

