R.G. Keen's Blog

Lessons from Installing EON ZFS Server

Posted in Opensolaris Server by rgkeen on May 8, 2010

Nuggets I found:

  • The EON install CD will boot from an IDE interface CD drive with an IDE to SATA adapter plugged into it to attach to the SATA ports on a motherboard.
  • But once EON has booted, it cannot mount that same IDE-to-SATA connected CD drive to use for completing the installation.  The installation fails to complete, displaying the GRUB messages that it can’t find stage1 or stage2; that’s because they are on the CD during the installation process, and it can’t mount the CD drive with the odd plumbing I used for it.
  • However, it works just fine if you put that same IDE CD drive into an external USB enclosure. EON can then both boot from and mount the USB connected CD drive.
  • EON will happily install in a 2GB Compact Flash card which has been inserted into a Syba compact flash to IDE adapter. I stuck the SY-IDE2CF-DU adapter ($13, newegg.com) into the single IDE port on my motherboard. However, this eats up the only IDE port on my motherboard, like it would many others. That’s how I got into using an IDE CD drive with an IDE to SATA adapter for the install CD.
  • EON saves all the configuration that you set up back on the boot disk you installed to. Or at least it does if you update the boot image with the “updimg.sh” after you do the config changes.
  • … and you have to type in “/usr/bin/updimg.sh /mnt/eon0/boot/x86.eon” and not just “updimg.sh”.  Doh! I was lucky that the command told me what to do as “correct usage”.
  • I still don’ t have the DHCP stuff running, so I just set the IP address to a fixed value inside my home net. That got me running on ssh console logins.
  • … but then I got strange errors and Apache going into maintenance mode. I fixed that by editing the hosts file to include the server name and the IP address I’d chosen. Now I can stick the server address into a browser in my home net and it replies with the thoughtfully provided message “It works!”

The part that’s worked solidly since the first try was zfs setup and operation and cifs shares. Worked first time.  I hope this saves you some time.

[Note: as of 5-23-2011 I have decided to ditch OpenSolaris entirely based on Oracle’s new directions for Solaris and OpenSolaris. My data is too important to depend on what I perceive from Oracle.]

Leave a Reply

